History – National History

The National Black MBA Association was established in 1970 by a group of Master of Business Administration candidates who met at the University of Chicago. The organization was incorporated as a non-profit organization in the state of New York in 1974.

In 1976, visionary African-American MBA professionals founded the “Black MBA Association of Washington, DC” This group later became the Washington, DC Chapter of the National Black MBA Association, Inc. (NBMBAA-DC) in 1982 and in 2001, received its 501(c) (3) status. Through a broad range of activities and programs, the mission of the NBMBAA-DC is to strengthen the economic and intellectual wealth of the African-American community; develop and empower business leaders; partner with local corporations, colleges and institutions to provide new and innovative programs; and enhance the professional development of its members for the 21st century.

History – Founders and Past Leaders

Past Presidents (in order of service)

Gary Swift (chartering president)
H. Marrel Foushee (first elected president)
Bill Durham
Nancy Hall
Etienne LeGrande
Amy Billingsley
Thelma Noble
Leroy Fykes
Cheryl Davis
LaJoy Mosby
Lanta Evans
Gregory Harrod
Dargeelyn Loftin
Kim Wilson
Anthony Pollard
Angela Dixon Van Croft
Oscar W. Mardis
John L. James II
Candice Charles

Erica Roberts (Current Chapter President)

Chapter Charter Members

Knowlton Atterbeary
Malcolm Beech
Bill Durham
H. Marrel Foushee
Jackie Green
Nancy Hall
Angela Hayes
Barbara Madison
Carol Massey
Gary Swift